Breaking NewsCelebrity News

Taylor Swift, Keke Palmer, and Austin Butler Join Prestigious Film Academy: Get Ready for Star-Studded Blockbusters

The prestigious Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is expanding its exclusive ranks, announcing 398 new members from 51 countries. Among the notable names are Taylor Swift, Austin Butler, Keke Palmer, Paul Mescal, Ke Huy Quan, Selma Blair, and Bill Hader. This diverse group includes Oscar nominees and winners, as well as talented individuals from various fields within the film industry.



The academy continues to prioritize inclusivity, with 40% of the new class identifying as women and 34% representing underrepresented ethnic and racial communities. Over half of the invitees hail from outside the United States. While the growth rate has slowed compared to previous years, the academy remains committed to its post-#OscarsSoWhite diversity goals.



This year’s class is almost the same size as the previous two years, consisting of 395 invitees in 2021 and 397 in 2022. Although larger than the quotas of the past, which typically admitted around 100 members, this year’s group is smaller than the record-breaking 2018 class of 928. The academy aims for steady future growth while maintaining infrastructure and support for all members.



Women constitute 34% of the academy’s membership, while 19% are from underrepresented ethnic and racial communities, statistics that have remained unchanged from last year. A 2012 analysis by The Times highlighted the lack of diversity among Oscar voters, revealing that they were predominantly white and male.



Notably, several branches have invited more women than men this year, including casting directors, costume designers, makeup artists and hairstylists, and marketing and public relations. The actors and directors branches have drawn the majority of their new members from underrepresented ethnic and racial communities.



In specific branches, directors like Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert (a.k.a. Daniels), and Edward Berger have received invitations. The music branch has welcomed renowned artists such as Taylor Swift and David Byrne, while the executives branch includes industry leaders like Warner Bros. Discovery CEO David Zaslav and Netflix Chief Content Officer Bela Bajaria.



Overall, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences continues to prioritize diversity and talent, acknowledging the remarkable contributions of these new members and their impact on the global film industry.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button